Restoring 79 Supersport first steps...

GODSDOG
New Member & Happy To Be Here

Restoring 79 Supersport first steps...

Post by GODSDOG »

Hello I would like to myself as a new member, I recently decided it was time to start a restoration to my dad's 1979 CBX supersport that he gave me a few years ago. Its been sitting in his yard (periods both covered and uncovered) for about 20 years. During the move to his house at that time 20 years ago he lost the key and it hasn't been started since. The engine was working at the time before he lost the key and it has about 15k miles on it. He was the third owner and says he put about 1k miles on it himself.

Personally I am more of a car mechanic and have done engine conversions and rebuilds so mechanically wise I feel I am up to the task for this rebuild/restoration. I am however a complete noob to motorcycles. I feel like this would be a good thing for me and my dad to do together and I'm expecting this to be a long build.