Intersting place

CBXs, new bikes, old bikes, cars, trucks, general chat, off topic, this is the place to post it.
whatscooking
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Intersting place

Post by whatscooking »

Bobistheoilguy.com

Larry Zimmer
ICOA Web Post/Pix/Video Archive Mgt

Re: Intersting place

Post by Larry Zimmer »

Most interesting!
Larry Zimmer
cbxlarry@sbcglobal.net

Limey01
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by Limey01 »

That was quite a lot to digest but very interesting both from a antique motorcycle/car perspective and what I do for a living which is a technician at a gas turbine power plant. Our gas turbines were commissioned in 1994 and were initially filled with a Group 1 base stock oil. We are still running this same oil but analysis shows that the additive package is getting low.

Later units running Group 2 base stock oil have had a lot of problems because these particular units also use the lube oil as hydraulic oil (up to 3600psi) which causes the additives to precipitate out and form a varnish. This causes numerous problems with the control valves which are hydraulically actuated by the same oil and start sticking during operation.

The latest innovation is a PolyAlkaline Glycol (PAG) lubricant which sounds like an anti-freeze and, interestingly, is also the same stuff you have to drink before going for a colonoscopy. There are a number of turbines that have been using this for several years with no issues but I have yet to see it in the automotive field.

So my dilemma is what to replace the oil with on our turbines, bearing in mind that they hold close to 8,000 gallons each. I actually understood more about that article than I really want to.
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

Syscrush
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by Syscrush »