Drilled stock rotors?

Samelak
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Drilled stock rotors?

Post by Samelak »

I have been thinking about drilling my stock rotors but I am unsure if its worth the effort.I am a machinist by trade and have access to a CNC mill that woud make the task simple. Any opinions from the forums would be appreciated.

Thanks, Lee

zxbob
Power Poster
Power Poster

Re: Drilled stock rotors?

Post by zxbob »

Drilled disks are a ++ (IMHO)

Bob
Good parts aint cheap ~ and cheap parts aint good !

NobleHops
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by NobleHops »

Samelak wrote:I have been thinking about drilling my stock rotors but I am unsure if its worth the effort.I am a machinist by trade and have access to a CNC mill that woud make the task simple. Any opinions from the forums would be appreciated.

Thanks, Lee
IIRC you are restoring an 80, yes? Would you do a few others while you're setup?

N.
Nils Menten
Tucson, Arizona, USA '80 CBX, sort-of restored :-)

EMS
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by EMS »

Drilling rotors is a pain in the neck. I had several sets done in our shop and the number of bits the guy went through did hardly make it worth it. Make sure you have a decent pattern to use as a template. Ideally you would use a rotor that is already drilled and set it up as a guide.

spencer
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by spencer »

I've always wondered, and maybe you guys can tell me; what is the reason to drill brake rotors? Do they cool better? I doubt it. Is it because they look cool? The only real effect I can see is that there is slightly less friction area, which would make them not work as well as solid rotors. I'm not throwing cold water on the idea. I really do wonder why people drill them.
SCH Rochester, MN

NobleHops
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by NobleHops »