79 CBX - We'll see where this goes...

Hey, what projects are you planning or preparing for? CBX, other motos, workshop, WHATEVAH!
Keith64
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

79 CBX - We'll see where this goes...

Post by Keith64 »

Last fall while looking for a CB400f I found a guy who had one and also a 79 CBX. Both were pretty rough non-runners but I couldn't pass up a package deal.

I removed most of the mouse debris, changed the oil and sprayed WD40 down the cylinders before I stored it. I recently had some time so I pulled it out of storage again, sprayed the cylinders and all the fasteners down. Right now I'm in the process of stripping stuff off to see what's broke.

My plan is to see what it takes to get it running first. Eventually I'd like to restore it but I'll go after it bit by bit. I'm pretty new to vintage bikes.

First steps will be to pull the carbs, and get an ignition key code (currently doesn't have a key).

I'll have questions along the way and would appreciate advise from guys that have done this before!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

spencer
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Re: 79 CBX - We'll see where this goes...

Post by spencer »

I don't want to start a long discussion, but WD-40 is about the last thing I would spray in my cylinders. It is not a lubricant.
SCH Rochester, MN

steve murdoch icoa #5322
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by steve murdoch icoa #5322 »

Happy to follow along on another resto.
Are you hoping to go back to original? If not the Emgo ignition key and cylinder works fine.

Did you get the 400F finished?
Feel free to post a pic or two.

FalldownPhil
ICOA Member
ICOA Member

Post by FalldownPhil »

About that key. If you pull the ignition switch (2 6mm bolts) you will find a number on the switch.
Any decent locksmith will be able to cut you a key from that number and the key should fit all
of the locks. Ignition, gas tank, and helmet lock. Looking at the photos it appears to be all there